Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

VB Numerical Analysis Code

Status
Not open for further replies.

waterguy

Technical User
May 14, 2001
CA
Good Day Everybody,

This is my first post here. I would be interested in knowing if there are any places that one might download numerical analysis code (ie. solvers for matices, differential equations, numerical integration) for Visual Basic. I am an engineer by training but only a novice programmer. I know that there are "Numerical Recipe" books for Fortran, C, and I think even Pascal, but finding numerical analysis source code for VB seems to be more difficult.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks !

Hi waterguy

Visual basic is not meant for numerical analysis. C, C++, Fortran, Pascal is much faster at numerical manipulations and therefore preferred for these tasks.
I think that if you have a specific problem you might get lucky and find somebody who solved it, but I've haven't seen any official collection of numerical solutions.

Another possibility is to make the numerical analysis in C++ and create a dll, which you can you in VB (it's not as hard as it sounds and in most cases it will be faster than trying to solve it in VB).

Sunaj (Geophysicist)

Sunaj,

"Visual basic is not meant for numerical analysis.""

Earns you a BIG HISSSS BOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Where did you get this weird concept that languages - especially modern ones - are 'meant' for a particular type of application?

MichaelRed
redmsp@erols.com

There is never time to do it right but there is always time to do it over

Hhhmm