Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

VB not working on ASP Page

Status
Not open for further replies.

jortego

Programmer
Oct 14, 2002
US
I developed an ASP application to be part of an Intranet run from a IIS server. It runs perfectly on the computer I developed it on, however when I install it on the client's IIS server, the Visual Basic Code doesn't seam to be recognized.

My pages are .asp and the client already has .asp pages running on the same server. They, however, are only using javascript and not VB.

I am fairly new to IIS as well as ASP pages. I did compare their server configuration to my development one and they appear to be the same. Does anyone have any advice of things that I should check or look for to help figure out how to make my code work?

I'll assume you created the pages in VS6 or similar where you have compiled the code. Unless you are using ASP.NET this will not work right. You need to use vbscript for the older version of ASP, due to ASP not being compiled in the same respect to working with VB and or ASP.NET. ---------------------------------------
{ str = "sleep is good for you. sleep gives you the energy you need to function";
ptr = /sleep/gi;Nstr = str.replace(ptr,"coffee");alert(Nstr); }

Make sure you put this at the top of every asp page so that it knows it's written in vbscript:

<%@language=vbscript%> -----------------------------------------------------------------
&quot;C makes it easy to shoot yourself in the foot; C++ makes it harder, but when you do, it blows away your whole leg.&quot;
- Bjarne Stroustrup

mikewolf@tst-us.com

I'm confused. Are we talking about VB here, or VBScript, or what?