Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Variable returning "empty" even when not? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katerine

Programmer
Mar 9, 2001
US
I'm pretty new to PHP (specifically), so I apologize if I'm missing something obvious. At least this should be a pretty quick question. :)

Ok, so I have the following test code set up:
PHP:
	$secure = (!empty($_SERVER['HTTPS']) && $_SERVER['HTTPS'] !== 'off') || $_SERVER['SERVER_PORT'] == 443;
	$secure = (empty($secure)) ? false : $secure;
	echo ($secure ? 'True' : 'False'), empty($secure) ? 'Empty' : '';

I'm running it on my development server, which is a Windows machine running IIS 7 with PHP 5.6, on localhost, obviously not over HTTPS. Under those circumstances, the value of $secure should be false. But for some reason, the echo code above consistently returns, "FalseEmpty" - even though I specifically checked for empty and reset it to false. Does false somehow = empty in PHP? If not (and that would be very strange), how do I get it to correctly set to false based on the server settings?

Many thanks!

Katie

Hi

Katie said:
Does false somehow = empty in PHP?
Yes. As the documentation says :
PHP Documentation about empty() said:
Returns FALSE if var exists and has a non-empty, non-zero value. Otherwise returns TRUE.

The following things are considered to be empty:
[ul]
[li]"" (an empty string)[/li]
[li]0 (0 as an integer)[/li]
[li]0.0 (0 as a float)[/li]
[li]"0" (0 as a string)[/li]
[li]NULL[/li]
[li]FALSE[/li]
[li]array() (an empty array)[/li]
[li]$var; (a variable declared, but without a value)[/li]
[/ul]