Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Variable not passing from function to main code

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dubbemiah

Programmer
Apr 2, 2005
US
Hi folks. I'm pretty new to pascal 7.0 and desire help if any are willing.
What I'm trying to do:
When a user presses "a", the cursor will move 5 spaces to the right. If I replace the last 'x' in the last 'gotoxy' with '10', the program works. But I need the function to return the value of X. Here is the code

program stupid;
uses crt;
var
arrowkey : char;
x, y : integer;
tmp : char;

function MoveCursorX(X : Integer): Integer;
begin
x := (x+5);
end;

begin
x:=5;
y:=5;
gotoxy(x,y);
arrowkey := readkey;
if arrowkey = chr(65) then
MoveCursorX(X);
gotoxy(x,y);
readln(tmp);
end.

Thanks in advance for your help.

You need to set the result of the function;

e.g.

function MoveCursorX(X : Integer): Integer;
begin
X := (X+5);
MoveCursorX := X;
end;

In the main code, you can then use the function as follows;

if arrowkey = chr(65) then X=MoveCursorX(X);
gotoxy(X,Y);

Just to clarify, Stackdump is correct in giving you a much more appropriate way to use functions.

But what you've done is a little complicated and worth understanding since it's pretty educational about how pascal works.