Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

VARCHAR2 field filtering 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

paoconnell

Programmer
Jun 11, 2002
US
I'm an experienced programmer, but am new to Oracle.

I have an Oracle table that I am querying, that contains a VARCHAR2 field (DESCRIPTION) whose text contains newlines (the kind is uncertain, but the client runs on Win2K and the server is Solaris). I need the query to use a function to remove (or convert to a space) the newlines, as they interfere with exporting this field to a comma separated text field.

Part of the query as it stands:
Code:
SPOOL C:\TEMP\WPOPERATION.CSV

Select WONUM ||',' ||
       TO_CHAR(COMPLETIONDATE) ||','||
       '"'|| DESCRIPTION || '"'
  FROM wpoperation;
SPOOL OFF

DESCRIPTION gets truncated at the first newline.

The guy who exported this field before me resorted to an external C programming to do the filtering; he's not in town right now. I have an idea that PL/SQL may have functions that will help do the trick, but can't find a book in the office that gives me the info I need. Is there a good site out there which is a good reference to the PL/SQL language and functions? Alternatively, does anyone have a code snippet that can be run under SQL Plus and does the same kind of filtering? Thanks!

Pat O'Connell
Visualize Whirled Peas

Pat,

As you are aware, end-of-line character sequences, depending upon operating system, involve hex(0D)+hex(0A) [carriage return+line feed] on a Windows environment and just the line feed, hex(0A) on a Unix system. You can easily get rid of either/both with one function in the Oracle world. Using your code as an example:
Code:
Select WONUM ||',' ||