Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Using VNC, or pcanywhere...How? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

PilgrimSoldier

Instructor
Aug 13, 2002
US
I am a CAD software tutor, and I have purchased pcanywhere, as well as downloaded VNC. I have no prior experience with either program, and want to use one or the other to aid in long distance teaching.
I hoped to be able to log in to a users computer and see their screen, watch their selections, and take over if need be. Provided we are both running a windows version,(which is all this software will work on, I have xp, they could have anything windows), will this work? pcanywhere seems to imply additionally that I have to be on the same type of internet access as the user or it won't function. I don't understand how to get either program going.

I am not a techi, just a tutor.
Thanks, Pilgrim Soldier

Ok, if you are going to use PCAnywhere your students will also have to have it installed.

VNC on the otherhand is free.

I'll explain how to use VNC.

Have your student's install VNC from the winvnc directory if they download it and set it up as a service (this sets up the server). They should choose a password and give it to you.