Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Using VBScript and Javascript in the same page 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

tictaclam

Programmer
Jan 8, 2004
US
Hi
I'm new to ASP and I was wondering if there is anyway that you can change the asp language from VBScript to Javascript on a page. Basically I'm expanding on someone else's work and their ASP is all in VB and I really need some of the features that javascript offers. i am trying to do <% @Language="VBScript" %>
....code...
<% @Language = "Javascript" %>
.....code...
i'm getting the error: The @ command can only be used once within the Active Server Page.
Is there anyway around this? thanks

In my experience with Javascript and ASP to use the Javascript it goes inside an html like tag such as

<script language=javascript>
funciton(){
//some logic here
}
</script>

I would keep the language as it is b/c the ASP will need to run on the server as vbscrip but the JavaScript will be available in the browser.

Can you specify those features in JavaScript you need which you cannot find in VBScript?

You are dealing with 3 different script conditions:
1. ASP VB Script - interpreted by the server (the "code" as you might call it)
2. VB Script to be interpreted by Internet Explorer (functions, msgboxes, etc.)
3. Javascript to be interpreted by the browser (functions, alerts, etc.)

VB Script is the default script for an ASP. The opening and closing tags being <% & %> VB Script is assumed in between, although it may be defined.