Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Using VBA to import Word doc into Excel Spreadsheet 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

tearsmith

Technical User
Sep 7, 2003
US
All,

I am fairly new to VBA and I have a question that is probably pretty easy, maybe you could help?

I need to copy/paste a word document into an excel worksheet. I would like to have SHEET2, CELL A1 have the word IN RUN underlined. When a user clicks on IN RUN, I want file c:\My Documents\PPO IN RUN.doc to open and page 2 - 6 to be pasted into cell B1.

I tried a basic macro record, but it only records the copy and paste and doesn't pick up that you have to go to Word and copy a certain file.

Help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
tearsmith

Hi,

So you want the CONTENTS of the document to be pasted in B2.

You do not want the file to be inserted in B2.

I am assuming that you are in Excel to begin with.

What you need to do is set a document object using the CreateObject method.

First, you'll need to set a reference to the Word Object Library. In the Excel VB Editor, menu item Tools/References - scroll down to Microsoft Word x.y Object Library and check the box.
Code:
Sub CopyDoc()
    Dim docAppl As Word.Application, docMyDoc As Word.document
    MyFileName = "C:\test1.doc"
    Set docAppl = CreateObject("Word.Application")
    Set docMyDoc = Documents.Open(MyFileName)
    With docMyDoc
        .Range(Start:=0, End:=.Characters.Count).Copy
    End With
    [B1].Select
    ActiveSheet.Paste

Set docMyDoc = Nothing
    Set docAppl = Nothing
End Sub
Hope this helps :)

Skip,
Skip@TheOfficeExperts.com