Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Using Variables in a PARALLEL JOB ODBC Connector SQL statement

Status
Not open for further replies.

donafran

Programmer
Jul 11, 2002
US
Hi
I am BRAND NEW to Datastage and am tasked with converting our porcesses from Data Manager to Datastage.

>>> In Data Stage, our task is :
We are trying to use a table accessed through our ODBC connection to an AS400 system as our input Stream.

Our requirement is that the SQL statement use one or more variables in the “WHERE” clause to control the data selection
(i.e., FROM_DATE, or RECORD_TYPE) to allow us to run the same job without modification for multiple RECORD_TYPES (i.e., Forecast vs. Budget).

We have jobs that run just prior to our main job to set the variables in the SQL table to the correct values – based on which system is triggering the ETL job.

Question 1 :
The variables and values exist in a SQL Server table in the TARGET database.
** QUESTION: Is there a method that would allow us to use the values from this control table from the Target SQL Server Database in the ODBC Connector stage SQL code?
>>> WE are able to do this In DataManager, on the JOB stream properties, we define a variable that is resolved by retreiving a value from a table on our TARGET SQL database. I am then able to reference this variable in the FACT BUILD DataStream QUERY SQL statement that uses the ODBC connection as SOURCE.

I know they are very different tools, but my thinking is that there should be some way to accomplish most of the flexibility we had in Data Manager

Question 2: