Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Using 'Today' in Filemaker Calculations 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cradders

Technical User
Jul 21, 2005
FR
Hi, I'm pretty new to Filemaker programming so you'll need to talk me through stuff in very basic terms.

I'm creating a multi-relational database system to do all sorts of things I used to do with Excel - and although I understand the concepts of Filemaker I keep getting tripped up on simple things.

The main problem I have at the moment is trying to put Today into calculations. For example I'm trying to make a calculation for a job tracking system which tells me how many days are left until the next step deadline.

So NextStepDeadline is a date field, with a date in it.
In Excel I use: NextStepDeadline - Today()
and the result is the number of days remaining until the deadline from today's date.
But when I try to put Today in Filemaker, it doesn't get it.

Help! There are lots of other things I need to do using Today so this has got me stumped.

See what the function Status(CurrentDate) can do for you if you have FM lower than 7 and the Get(CurrentDate) in FM 7.

In lower than 7 it is not recommanded to use the Today function. Depends of how you use it, it can slow down your application because FM has to recalculate the records.

Better is to use the Status function.

In FM 7 they removed the Today...

HTH

Thank you!

Yes, I'm using Filemaker 7.

I put Get(CurrentDate) in my formula and it works fine.

Why on earth did they take away a function so essential and not put its equivalents (the ones you just gave me) into the Date function table??? It's beyond me. I've spent all morning trying to solve this puzzle.

Cheers,