Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

using Schwartzian Transform to sort a data file by fields 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

ysmith

Programmer
Feb 17, 2005
US
Hello,
I'm still new at Perl and I'm trying to understand how to effectively implement the Schwartzian Transform on a data file. Here's what I'm trying to do
Code:
my $test_file = "../data/data_file";
open TEST, "<$test_file";
my @test_sort = <TEST>; 
close TEST; 

my @arr = map {$_->[1]} 
    sort {$b->[0] <=> $a->[0]}
    map {[ (split)[3], $_ ]} 
    @test_sort; 

print for @arr;
which, as discussed on a previous thread, is an implementation of the Schwartzian Transform. The way I understand it, the file is opened and read into an array, then the array is sorted by the fourth field which is stored then printed. I've been tinkering with the values a bit, but it's still not sorting the way I'd hoped. Am I doing something wrong?
Thanks in advance

The way I understand it, the file is opened and read into an array
In the code you posted, yes, you're reading the file into @test_sort, but you don't need this intermediate array, unless you also need the original unsorted version of the file. You could just put the fh and read operator <TEST> where you have @test_sort.
it's still not sorting the way I'd hoped. Am I doing something wrong?
Couldn't say unless I saw the file and how you want it sorted. Post a representative sample of the file and show us how you want it sorted.

mikevh, here's a sample of the unsorted file:
John, Doe, jdoe@rl.af.mil, Bethel College, Public Affairs, 56RF, 1984, History/German
Jane, Simmons, , Saint Mary's College, Medical Corps, 45MC, 1999, Nursing/Business