Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Using "Condition" clauses with XML

Status
Not open for further replies.

stavae

Programmer
Sep 7, 2009
FI

I need some Help with creating XML "Condition" Clauses.

I'm new to XML, so I'm not quite versatile.

What I need to do is : create a "Condition" which will trigger the execution of another XML code (or another portion of the same XML script)

Example : let's say that I have a list (Dropdown Menu). When the user selects a particular option from the menu, it will trigger another portion of the same XML script, or simply execute another XML code altogether.

How do I do this in XML?

Should it be : "......If (fieldname)='value' then......"

or something like that.

Thanks

Have unsurmountable difficulty in understanding the question as the vocabulary used is so alien to xml. (Also like your previous few threads.) It could be xhtml with javascript functionality used? I don't know. What book are you following? or maybe you can try javascript forum:
If you cannot communicate your problem for us mortals, it would be hard for anybody to help you. Maybe show you code of what you've done to some sufficient extent for people to determine where the best should you post the question to?

If I wanted JAVAscript forum, I would have gone there in the first place.

Let me see if I can explain this more clearly.

Take the following code, for example :

PART ONE :

<Field name='global.mechanicalkeyrequest'>
<Display class='Select' action='true'>
<Property name='title' value='Mechanical Key Request'/>
<Property name='allowedValues'>
<List>
<String>Assigned</String>
<String>Not Assigned</String>
</List>
</Property>
</Display>
</Field>

PART TWO: