Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Using Common Dialog Control in asp page?

Status
Not open for further replies.

elmakiraz

Programmer
Jan 5, 2004
TR
Hello,
I am not an experienced programmer and I want to use MS Common Dialog Control in my asp page. Here is the code I use:

<HTML>
<HEAD>
<META NAME=&quot;GENERATOR&quot; Content=&quot;Microsoft Visual Studio 6.0&quot;>
<SCRIPT ID=serverEventHandlersVBS LANGUAGE=vbscript RUNAT=Server>

Sub btnBrowse_onclick()
CommonDialog1.ShowOpen()
End Sub
</SCRIPT>
<BODY>

<OBJECT CLASSID=&quot;clsid:5220cb21-c88d-11cf-b347-00aa00a28331&quot;>
<PARAM NAME=&quot;LPKPath&quot; VALUE=&quot;CommonDialogControl.lpk&quot;>
</OBJECT>

<OBJECT ID=&quot;CommonDialog1&quot; WIDTH=32 HEIGHT=32
CLASSID=&quot;CLSID:F9043C85-F6F2-101A-A3C9-08002B2F49FB&quot;
CODEBASE=&quot;comdlg32.ocx&quot;>
</OBJECT>

</BODY>
</HTML>

But when I press the 'browse' button it does not open the common dialog control and I have this error:

Error Type:
Microsoft VBScript runtime (0x800A01A8)
Object required: 'CommonDialog1'
/WebDeneme/WebDeneme.asp, line 35

Browser Type:
Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1)

Page:
POST 230 bytes to /WebDeneme/WebDeneme.asp

POST Data:
_method=%2FWebDeneme%2FWebDeneme.asp%3F_method%3D_EM__onclientevent%26pcount%3D2%26p0%3DbtnBrowse%26p1%3Donclick&_btnCopy_state=value%3DCopy&_btnBrowse_state=value%3DBrowse&_btnShowForm_state=value%3D . . .

Shall I choose something from the Project References? what is the problem? Thanks in advance.