Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Using combo box to "branch" to two different forms 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Conner

Technical User
Nov 29, 2000
US
I have a "master" form that the user inputs common data (address, phone, etc) for everyone in a school system (FrmEveryone)--"1" side. Everyone placed in the database is classified in a combo box as either an "employee" or a "student."

Once this classification is made, I have two command buttons that require the used to select one of two additional forms -- one for data unique to an employee(FrmEmployee)--"many side" and the other for data needed on students (FrmStudent)--"many side".

My question is this: How do I "automate" going from the master form to the appropriate form when the user selects either "employee" or "student"? Can this be done without the user "interacting" with command buttons?

I would like to see this done with Macros (I am studing them now) but realize that VBA (which I do not yet know) is a better approach. Obviously, I am a novice so please move very slowly and make no assumptions.

I can follow directions. Thanks in advance!

use VBA code

In the Afterupdate event of the combo box try this

Private Sub Combo0_AfterUpdate()
If Combo0.Text = "Employee" Then
DoCmd.OpenForm "frm-Employee"
Else
DoCmd.OpenForm "frm-Students"
End If
End Sub

I just tested this DEMO and it works great
AS soon as I pick the appropriate choice in the combo box it opens the correct form

DougP, MCP
dposton@universal1.com

Ask me how Bar-codes can help you be more productive.