Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Using Cat5e cable for an RJ11 phone line 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

amberlynn

Programmer
Dec 18, 2003
CA
Hello!
I'm sure this is a simple question for most here.
I'm running cable in an office for a fax line.
The cable is cat5e.
One end of the cable terminates with a RJ11 jack and the other end terminates in an RJ11 wallplate.
Based on what I've found online, on the wallplate end, I'm cabling as follows:
blue/white -- green
blue -- red
orange/white -- black
orange -- yellow

I'm unclear on how I do the other end (the jack).
Is the above right?

I've never done phone cabling before, and can't seem to make this work...

Thanks!
Amber

"One end of the cable terminates with a RJ11 jack and the other end terminates in an RJ11 wallplate."

Do you mean to say that you're trying to find out how create the cable that goes between the fax machine itself and the wall jack?

or

Are you trying to plug a cable into an existing wall jack, run it to another location/room and wire that end to a new wall jack?

or

Something else [ponder]

I [love2] "FEATURE 00

The standard is white/blue on green of jack and blue/white to red. In reality you can use any pair or combination of colors to wire a RJ 11 c.

One end of the cable will plug into an existing (provided by the phone company) box - so I need to attach an RJ11 jack to it.
The other end needs to terminate in a wall mounted face plate - allowing a user to plug a fax machine into into it.
I've googled a lot - and believe I've got the end to the face plate done right -
blue/white -- green
blue -- red
orange/white -- black
orange -- yellow