Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Using Assembly for Arrays

Status
Not open for further replies.

CAP2007

Programmer
Aug 29, 2007
US
I am new to this forum. Please understand I have no assembly knowledge at all but am interested if the following can be done using assembly.

ie If I have the following array:

A(1)=3
A(2)=5
A(3)=7
A(4)=9
A(5)=11
A(6)=13
A(7)=15
A(8)=17
A(9)=19
A(10)=21
A(11)=23
A(12)=25
A(13)=27

Now what I would like to do is eliminate all arrays whose value is evenly divisible by 5 for example:

Therefore ideally I would like to be able to do the following by removing blocks of the array, if possible, and building a new array.

B(1)=3
B(2)=7
B(3)=9
B(4)=11
B(5)=13
B(6)=17
B(7)=19
B(8)=21
B(9)=23
B(10)=27

I am wondering if I could build the above array like this:
Send A(1) to B(1)
Send chunk A(3) - A(6) to B(2) - B(5)
Send chunk A(8) - A(11) to B(6) - B(9)
Send A(13) to B(10)

What might be able to be done is store the start and end indexes so that I can send the chunk to the new array by concatenating it to the new array list. I have no idea if I made myself clear but thats the best I can do. If this helps the array can be 10's of millions of elements ranging with numbers 1 to n but all values will always be in ascending order and each will be a unique value. I hope I have desribed the issue clearly. Like I said before pardon my ignorance but I have no assembly experience and appreciate any help you gurus can provide me with.

Thanks,

Les

It's certainly one way of doing it, though I don't think it's particularly efficient.