Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Using ActiveState Perl For Windows to Parse 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

pmking

IS-IT--Management
Mar 1, 2006
US
Hello All,

I have a parsing question. I have a formated report that I need to parse through and extract certain pieces of the text file.

Firsl of all, I am new to Perl, and I am not sure where to begin.

What I would like to do is:

1. Create a GUI interface so users can input where their text file that needs parsing is located on their pc.

2. Have a perl script (created via ActiveState Perl for windows) run against the text file and extract only what is needed, and output it to an excel spreadsheet. Not sure if this can be, the output to an excel spreadsheet.

I am not sure where to begin with the perl script, since the text file that I need to parse is formatted already. There are tabs, spaces, colons, dashes throughout this text file.

Am I on the right track by using perl? And if so, can somebody please, please help me get a start?

Thanks.

If you want a GUI then Tk most likely. Tk modules come with activestate perl for windows so you can look them up in the activestate documentation. The rest also sounds possible. There are excel modules available on CPAN you can install using ppm on your windows box.

Yes, you are precisely in the right place. The key to what you are trying to accomplish is with Regular Expressions. I recommend the following site:

Regular Expressions are found in other scripting languages, I first started a similar project in VBScript using the Windows Script Hosting. VBScript can also apply Regular Expression using various objects.