Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

User Function Library (UFL) - Use of objects? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

eatwork

Technical User
May 16, 2005
CA
Hi,
I am really new to crystal reports and am recreating my access reports as crystal reports. My access reports utilize a few functions and I have created a UFL project to duplicate the functionality. While creating the UFL, I ran into the problem of not being able to see the additional functions I created when I use objects as parameter types. Does anyone know why this might be? and if I could get some suggestions on maybe how to change the code to support this problem? Need to use objects because the database will containt null or blank values. thank you.
Code:
    Public Function formatDimensions(ByVal comActLength As Object, ByVal comActWidth As Object, ByVal comActHeight As Object, ByVal isMetric As Boolean) As String Implements IExchangeUfl.formatDimensions
        Dim str As String
        str = ""
        If Not (CType(comActWidth, Double) = 0 Or comActWidth = "") Then
            If (CType(comActLength, Double) = 0 Or comActLength = "" Or IsNothing(comActLength)) Or _
            (CType(comActHeight, Double) = 0 Or comActHeight = "" Or IsNothing(comActHeight)) Then
                If (isMetric = True) Then
                    str = String.Concat(str, FormatNumber(comActWidth, 2), "Diameter x")
                Else
                    str = String.Concat(str, ConvertMetricToImperial(comActWidth, False), "Diameter x")
                End If