Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

User acct permissions 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

SepMan76

Technical User
Apr 5, 2001
US
I am new to server administration. I am trying to set up Term Services so that users may login to the server but not change the date... but when I create a user who is in the User group, they are not allowed to login. I get the following error:

"The local policy of this system does not permit you to logon interactively"

I get this from the console and a Term Srvr session. What value(s) need tweaking in order to allow the user to logon?

Thank you in advance!

The users group needs to be added to the "logon local" policy found in user manager under the policies menu in user rights.

I am still having some trouble here.
I am actually running Small Business Server, so the Computer Management-> Settings -> Local Users and Groups is disabled and it tells me to use the AD Users to manage the domain accounts (the server is a domain controller).

I have created a security group (GROUP_TEST) in the active directory and added a user (USER1) to the group. Next, I went to Local Security Settings -> Local Policies -> User Rights Assignments and added GROUP_TEST to the "log on locally" policy.

I still cannot logon and continue to get the error message above. The policy takes effect immediately, right? When I am adding users/groups to the "log on locally" policy, there are two columns: Local Policy setting and Effective Policy Setting. For GROUP_TEST, the Local Policy Setting is checked, but the Effective Policy Setting is NOT check and is greyed out. What does that mean? How do I change the "Effective" setting?

Once again, your help is much appreciated!