Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

use perl to delimit and delete bad records in flat-file DB export

Status
Not open for further replies.

shotokan

IS-IT--Management
Jul 13, 2003
US
I'm new to perl and need help building a pipe delimited text file with rows that contain the correct location of the delimiter.
I'm trying to modify a text file that has record elements delimited by spaces. But I don't want to replace all of the spaces in each row. Then I need to remove any rows that are missing data in the fields. This is to prepare a file for import into a database using an import utility.

Here's what I have so far, input file looks like this and has several hundred rows.

<code>
0211121253 Mike Dell ID065533
empty_field Bill Apple ID394033
0211121253 Leo De Vinci ID02014
0211121253 Joe Del La Marco ID653335
2033223222 John Michael Smith ID345234
</code>
<code>
#!/usr/bin/perl

$header = "ACCOUNT|FNAME|LNAME|ID\n";
@data =();
open INFILE, "< dat.txt"
or die "Cant open input file : $!";
# print $header;
while (<INFILE>) {
chomp;
push (@data, $_);
$_ =~ s/\s/\|/g;
print "$_\n";
}
close INFILE;
</code>

After processing, the output file should look like this:
<code>
ACCOUNT|FNAME|LNAME|ID # <-header added
0211121253|Mike|Dell|ID065533
0211121253|Leo|De Vinci|ID02014 # <-space left in place
0211121253|Joe|Del La Marco|ID653335 #same here
2033223222|John Michael|Smith|ID345234 # <-space left place
</code>
The script should also delete any rows with empty elements.