Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Use of uninitialized value in substitution (s///) error 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

simonchristieis

Programmer
Jan 10, 2002
GB
I'm new to Perl, just trying to create an xml file from a csv file:

Code:
{
my($fi) = $ARGV[0];
my($fo) = $ARGV[1];
my(@fields);
my(@fieldHeaders);
my($row);
my($i_count)=1;
my($ii_count)=0;
my($string);

sub trim($)
{
	$string = shift;
	$string =~ s/^\s+//;
	$string =~ s/\s+$//;
	$string =~ s/\s+//g;
	$string =~ s/\///g;
	return $string;
}

open(FI,$fi) || die("Cannot open $fi as input.\n");
open(FO,">$fo") || die("Cannot open $fo as output.\n");

print FO "<?xml version=\"1.0\" encoding=\"utf-8\" ?>\n<RESULT>\n";

while ($row=<FI>)
	{
		chop($row);
		@fields = split(/,/,$row);

if($i_count==1)
		{
		@fieldHeaders = split(/,/,$row);
		}

if($i_count!=1)
		{
		print FO "<item>\n";
			foreach (@fieldHeaders)
			{
				print FO "<".trim($fieldHeaders[$ii_count]).">".trim($fields[$ii_count])."</".trim($fieldHeaders[$ii_count]).">\n";
				$ii_count=$ii_count+1;
			}

print FO "</item>\n";
		}
		$ii_count=0;
		$i_count=$i_count+1;
	}
print FO "</RESULT>\n";
close(FO);
close(FI);

}

The input file is of this format:

Code:
// field 1, field 2, field 3
value1, value2, value3

This is the error:
Code:
Use of uninitialized value in substitution (s///) at D:\quic_shares_cr_prod\Releases\Library\v3.1.20\MeanReversionToXML.pl line 15, <FI> line 873.
Use of uninitialized value in substitution (s///) at D:\quic_shares_cr_prod\Releases\Library\v3.1.20\MeanReversionToXML.pl line 16, <FI> line 873.