Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

use of SYSTEM() command

Status
Not open for further replies.

LFI

Programmer
Apr 27, 1999
US
I've been going through the SAM's "Teach Yourself C in 21 Days" book (which I tend to like) and when trying to compile sample programs with the SYSTEM() function in it, I received error messages indicating that my Borland C compiler didn't recognize this function (even though I had included the STDLIB.H file in my #include statements at the beginning.<br>
<br>
Has this happened to any of you before? I thought the SYSTEM() function was ANSI standard and should be recognized. Hmmm...

I'm not an expert, but I think that the system() funtion is not implementable on a win32 system...<br>
Please correct me if I'm wrong! ;)

Thanks for the reply. I have Windows '95. Are you saying that I need to compile my program with Windows closed (i.e., from DOS)? I'll try anything, but remember, I'm not even up to the point where I'm running the program. I can't even compile. Suggestions?

Hmmm... <br>
I'm not sure here... as I said, I'm not an expert by any means!<br>
What I meant was that the system() may not be available on machines running MS-DOS/Windows as an OS.<br>
(But it's probably available on UNIX OS's (Like Linux) )<br>
<br>
I'm more of a Perl programmer.. (novice!!)<br>
<br>
Can anyone else help out here?

System() is a system specific function. Therefore, if you're your going to use it, then you must include a header file that contains the hooks to the 'system' you're running. A unix environment is going to have different system calls than say a DOS environemnt.<br>
<br>