Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Use of forms 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

svar

Programmer
Aug 12, 2001
GR
I'm new to PHP, though I know perl very well.
I am trying to learn PHP by actually building a test system. So I have apache, mysql and php
and I am building the following:
1. A login form. Somebody logs in with a user name and passwd
This is done via a mysql table LOGIN, of the form
username password ID. So if login is successful, PHP knows the logger's ID
2. After authentication, based on the ID of the user name, the rights of the logger are determined via a second table, say RIGHTS of the form
ID Rights, where rights may be 'user' or 'admin'
Based on what rights ID has, a different form appears for user and admin

Here is how I am implementing these:
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<body>

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">

function doLogin() {
username=document.login.username.value;
if(username=="") {
alert("Please, enter your user name and password to complete the login procedure.\nIf you are a new user, click on the 'Register here' link.");
return false;
}
return true;
}

</SCRIPT>
<?php

if(!isset($_SESSION['userid'])) {
?>
<FORM METHOD="POST" NAME="login" ACTION="login.php" onSubmit="return doLogin()">
<table border=0 class=normal cellspacing="1" cellpadding="1" align=center>

<tr><td class=title><div align="center">Welcome to my site</div></td></tr>
<tr><td class=title><div align="center"> LOGIN</div></td></tr>

<tr><td><div align="center">Username</div></td></tr>

<tr><td><div align="center">
<input CLASS="textbox" type="text" name ="username" size=15>
</div></td></tr>

<tr><td><div align="center">Password</div></td></tr>

<tr><td><div align="center">