Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Use listbox to display and select records on form

Status
Not open for further replies.

JTBorton

Technical User
Jun 9, 2008
DE
I'm very new to Access and I am trying to create a form to manage contact information in a Contacts data table. I would like to place a list box at the left side of the form with all of the names in the data table. When the user clicks on a name in the box, all of the record fields on the form will jump to that name. Likewise, if the user clicks the "next record" button, the listbox will change its list index to highlight that name. Can someone suggest how this might be done? Will it require VBA code? I have a bit of experience in Excel and Excel VBA, but am not sure how to approach this in Access, as I have recently discovered they have almost nothing in common.

-Joshua
Well, You can try banging your head against the wall, but you just end up with lost-time injuries and damaged equipment. [M. Passman]

use a query this one based on a table called city.
SELECT City.CityID, City.City FROM City ORDER BY [City];

Never give up never give in.

There are no short cuts to anything worth doing :)

This one for office application it is limited to 25 names.
Sub FDocument_close()
Dim db As DAO.Database
Dim rst As DAO.Recordset
Dim strSQL As String
Dim strPath As String
Dim doc As Document
Set doc = ThisDocument
strSQL = "SELECT LastName FROM Addresses ORDER BY LastName"
strPath = "G:\OMR\MRM\1.Management&Admin\Phone List\Phone Book Database.mdb"
Set db = OpenDatabase(strPath)
Set rst = db.OpenRecordset(strSQL)
Do While Not rst.EOF
With doc.FormFields("wfLastName").DropDown.ListEntries.Add Name:=rst(0)
End Withrst.Move