Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

USB Printer not detected 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Najemikon

Technical User
Mar 5, 2002
GB
Hi,

I've been trying to install a USB printer on to a Windows XP PC. Sounds easy, and indeed, it is something I have done hundreds of time (I'm an engineer and this is a customers PC). Software & driver installs fine, but when it prompted for the printer to be connected, the Windows 'bubble' said it was an unrecognised device. Since then, it won't detect it at all. The device manager shows no unknown hardware, or errors.

I've uninstalled and reinstalled the software frequent times. It's a HP printer and they provide a thorough uninstall utility (it's called scrubber) to handle this very problem. You can see it removing all files and registry entries, but it makes no difference.

Interesting point though, is that since the first time the software was run, it skips the detecting printer section, implying it's already there. There's an option to "add additional device", but this acts like normal and can't detect a device. I'm very confused!

I've removed and reinstalled the USB ports, tested them with other devices (all ok), deleted registry entries manually in Safe Mode, and so on. Still no luck. Printer has been tested ok on another PC.

HP have come up with an unusual suggestion that I haven't had chance to try, but I can't comprehend why it would help: they suggest that if the PC has USB 2.0 ports, to connect the printer through a USB 1.1 hub; however, if the PC has USB 1.1, install a USB 2.0 port.