Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

UPS battery fully discharges everynight around the same time.

Status
Not open for further replies.

R3dNeckTech

Technical User
Jun 9, 2006
US
Hi!

I have no experience troubleshooting a UPS issue and could really use some help.

My company has an APC Smart UPS 700. I'm not sure how old it is. We have a Windows NT server, and one or two small things plugged into it. Every night around nine the batteries fully discharge for no apparent reason. This has been going on now for 11 days, and I can't figure it out.

I used the PowerChute application to check on the UPS, but did not find anything unusual. It passed the self-test, output is hanging out around 122 VAC, the temp fluctuates between 111 and 115 F, and the battery stays around 27 VDC. All of that is within the normal range. Also, it's only got a 40% load on it. I thought it might be the battery dying, but PowerChute says it's still charging to full capacity, and there has not been a replace battery message yet.

I did find this Microsoft Knowledge Base article, but I'm not sure.

I welcome your feedback!

Thank you! :)

I need to add two things to this post.

1) The UPS is 5 years old.

2) The discharges are only happening on weeknights, not weekends.

Do you know if the software is causing the UPS to go into battery mode every night kind of like a selftest? Due to the fact that the UPS are 5 years old and if they still have the same batteries that they came with I would say that the batteries need to be replaced. If thats the case I would say that once the software is putting the UPS onto the battery that the batteries are being immediately depleted.

Thanks for the response!