Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

UPS backup solution... im lost. need advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

mlchris2

Technical User
Mar 18, 2005
US
UPS systems are not my specialty, I have some experience with your typical small 1000 Watt UPS backups, but I've been tasked with is something I know little about. So I come seeking advice and recommendations.

I need to implement a UPS backup solution for our server room. Long story short; a local ISP company shared our server room and they moved, taking the battery backup system which we both shared.

I have checked out all the specs on our equipment in our rack and came up with a number... 9000w. I got this number by looking at power specs for all our equipment and then totaling it all together. Most of our equip is 120v (servers,networking equipment, etc). We have some 12v DC stuff (WAP's, external HD's, etc)

Do I need to look for a UPS system that can output 9000w or more. Has a 220v or 110v input and either a 220v/110v output?

How do I figure out max run time?

Any recommendations on what type/brand of UPS I should be looking at? I'd like something that has monitoring and notification capabilities at minimum.

again, thanks for helping out a total UPS-noob.

MC

Mark C.

to get a feel for the products and sizing, go to - they have an Infrastructure Estimator page - you fill in the blanks on how much power you need, how much backup time you need, and it suggests products.
Another major player in the UPS space is they offer assessment services - which you may find useful.

Fred Wagner

You say most of your equipment is 120V. Does some require 220V? What kind of run time do you need?