Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Upgrade 98 to Win 2000 pro on HP, nothing but problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

OlusAviatrix

Technical User
Jul 11, 2002
US
Okay. I upgraded to windows 2000 pro from 98 on and HP pavilion 8580c. I have had almost nothing but problems ever since. I have made my printer, browser, mouse, and keyboard work. I can't make my cd writer, dvd player, office 2000 pro, sound/video cards, scanner, and some other things work. Win 2000 pro even disabled something as simple as my address book. I can't even make a back up now, before I try to go back. I have heard about partitioning a drive to work with both operating systems, but I am a CIS student, and think that eventually, if I break it up too much, I will lose capabilities. I do not know all there is to know, so I really need some help. I cannot locate drivers, manufacturer names, and the like. From what I can tell, I like 2000 pro (boots up faster and freezes less), but half of my equipment does not work. Does anyone out there have any advice for me? Should I go back to 98, partition, or do you know what other people have done in this situation. HP told me that they did not recommend that any model pavilion be upgraded to 2000 pro, but why the heck not? What is the deal? There has got to be a way to make this work. I do not want to have to buy new hardware, because all HP says do is to go back to 98 and restore the comp to default properties. I have too much to start all over again from scratch. Sorry this is so long, but I am a bit frustated... Weary in Houston