Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Updating from a datagridview 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

trimtrom

Programmer
Dec 12, 2003
GB
Hello

I am new to VB.net and have a form where I am trying to update an Access database from a datagridview that I databound on the fly. However when I change something on the grid and press the update button it would seem that the dataset has accepted the changes, but when I next look at the grid, it hasn't updated. Can I use a SELECT statement in the way that I have?

Am I doing something wrong in the code, or is there something in the grid properties that I need to change?

Many thanks

Trimtrom

Public Class frmManual
Dim dcManual As New OleDb.OleDbConnection("Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source=|DataDirectory|\Nwind 97.mdb")
Dim daManual As OleDb.OleDbDataAdapter
Dim dsManual As New DataSet
Dim strSQL As String

Private Sub frmManual_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

strSQL = "select * from employees"
Try
daManual = New OleDb.OleDbDataAdapter(strSQL, dcManual)
daManual.Fill(dsManual, "Employees")
Catch ex As Exception
MsgBox(ex.Message)
End Try
Me.dgManual.DataSource = dsManual.Tables("Employees")
End Sub

Private Sub cmdUpdate_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles cmdUpdate.Click
Dim ans As String
If (dsManual.HasChanges) Then
ans = MsgBox("Changes have occurred!" & vbCrLf & "Do you wish to update?", MsgBoxStyle.YesNo + MsgBoxStyle.Information, "Updates")
If ans = vbYes Then
Try
dsManual.AcceptChanges()
daManual.Update(dsManual.Tables("Employees"))
Catch exManual As Exception
MsgBox(exManual.Message)
Throw exManual
Finally
End Try