Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Updating an Excel spreadsheet with information from another source

Status
Not open for further replies.

wotsit

MIS
Oct 18, 2002
GB
Hi all.

I'm after a bit of help please as i'm a bit stuck due to a limited knowledge of scripting.

I am a server engineer and i have been asked by my manager to produce a weekly report on server disk space usage. Our monitoring software kindly produces a printable report and it can also export the data into a csv or xml file. The printable report however is not good enough for them. They would like a spreadsheet which contains every server and their disk and for it to be updated weekly with the latest data which then populates a graph showing trends. I work for a very large company with a fairly big datacentre and it will take a large amount of my time for me to go through and update every server's free disk space every week.
I have created a working spreadsheet which automatically updates the graph when new figures are entered in the next weekly column, but i have a problem. I can update the spreadsheet easily by opening the csv file, highlighting the relevant column and pasting it into the spreadsheet. But whilst testing it, it seems the data in the exported files are not always in the same order, so i can not update it this way.

Is there a way for me to automate this with a script of some kind? Here's an example of Spreadsheet:

A B C D E F
1 Server name Description week1 week2 week3 week4

2 server a C:\NTFS 80% 60% 60%
3 server a D:\NTFS 50% 50% 50%
4 server b C:\NTFS 40% 50% 60%
5 server b D:\NTFS 80% 60% 60%
6 server c C:\NTFS 50% 50% 50%
7 server c D:\NTFS 60% 60% 60%
8 server d C:\NTFS 80% 60% 60%