Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Update Table Address City and Zip from New Table with corrected Info.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dom606

IS-IT--Management
Jul 29, 2007
US
I have a master table (tblMaster) with ID, Address, City, and Zip and many other fields. I also have a spreadsheet with corrected information I imported into a table named "Fixed Address4". The imported table contains ID, Address, City and Zip. I can join the two tables via the ID which is the primary key in both tables.

Now, my question is how do I create an update query that will change the data in tblMaster with that contained in Fixed Address4 where the ID's are equal? There are several hundred rows of data that need to be processed.

I looked at the update query in Access but it will update a field to something a user supplies. This will not work. So I must need some form of SQL, I think. This is Access 2016. Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks
Dom

You join your two tables. Then you select update icon (explanation point and pencil). You pick all the fields you want to update. In the row "update" you type the [tableName].[FieldName] from which to update. The intellisense will do all the work once you start typing. In the below example I am updating TbStates.StateName with TblUpdate.FixName

UpdateDemo_zhdetb.jpg

I did what you suggested but it seems to be selecting the old data not the new from Fixed Address4.
Capture_hinqb1.jpg

Somewhere in this environment you should have an SQL with your actual Update statement. Could you share it here?

Have fun.

---- Andy

There is a great need for a sarcasm font.

Thank you for looking at this.