Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Update .RPT via CE SDK 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

badstink

Programmer
Sep 10, 2002
US
Sorry for the long post. I didn't know how to shorten it yet give you the necessary background info.

I just finished looking over the past month of Crystal Enterprise forum posts and didn't find what I was looking for. I sure hope that a Crystal Enterprise SDK guru reads this post and wouldn't mind offering some good suggestions.

Let's say I have 30 copies of a single report, each having its own parameter values and schedule values. I've been using these reports for 4 months and therefore there are many saved instances of each report object.

Now I realize that my report would be much improved if I added 1 new parameter and deleted 1 of the old parameters. So I use a copy of Crystal Reports (on a development PC) to modify a local copy of the report template. I change the parameters and the record selection criteria in my .RPT file.

Now I'm ready to overwrite my old report objects with the new .RPT file on the CE server. I wish to do this using the CE SDK. Here are some important considerations:

1) I wish to retain all of my existing report objects
2) I wish to retain the title, description, and schedule information (including parameter values) of these objects
3) I wish to retain all instances of these report objects, including the saved data
4) I wish the new parameter to be added to each report object
5) I wish the deleted parameter to be deleted from each report object
6) I wish the selection criteria to be updated for each report object