Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Unix Environment Variables 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

boborama

Programmer
Dec 7, 2000
US
Sorry Folks...another CGI newbie here.
I need access to one or more "Unix Environment Variables" in my CGI (Perl or Ksh) script.
I realiize that CGI takes several environment variables from the server...but I need access to UNIX user level environment variables.

If I execute a cgi script from the command line(ksh in this instance) that does:
echo $MYDBASE

The cgi script correctly answers: /mysys/mydbase
But when I run this from a web link I get nada - nothing.
I even made certain I was logged in as the same "user" when I tested the cgi.

I tried adding stuff to the .profile of and stopping/starting the web server process. No luck.
I see info on how to "exec" scipts as another user...but I think that just updates certain "permissions" and doesn't apply a user environment.

Anybody have an idea?

Hi

Depends on server settings, passing some environment variables may be restricted.

And where is that [tt]$MYDBASE[/tt] variable seted ? Note that some shell configuration files are processed only when the shell runs interactive.

Feherke.

Use Env;

might sort it out
--Paul

Spend an hour a week on CPAN, helps cure all known programming ailments ;-)

Thanks for the input folks.