Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Unclear on platform independent use after creation

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ed_Ray

IS-IT--Management
Jan 21, 2017
US
Hi to all.

I am new to Rexx but have programmed in many other scripting languages and high level languages such as c and c++ etc.

My question is typically when I compile other non Rexx scripts I get a true compiled item which I can take to the platform it was designed for and run it without the user needing to have the interpreter or anything else installed on their system.

The point being most users don't want to have to install anything on their systems just to get ones program to run.

I was going through some of the Rexx related web sites such as rexxinfo.com etc. and noticed they talked about "compiling" the Rexx script but it was not a true compilation in that still needed to be interpreted.

So my question is does the user need to install a Rexx interpreter on their system to run my scripts on their system?

If the answer is yes, then doesn't this defeat the whole point of compiling ones script so that the user does not need to install anything else other than ones executable?

Thanks to all in advance. Although the answer is probably a simple one for experienced Rexx folks, I was not able to find any direct answer to this by going through many different Rexx web sites.

Rexx compilation is not to an executable but, rather, to something similar to byte code in Java. So, just as you need a Java VM nstalled to run Java byte code you need a Rexx interpreter to run 'compiled' rexx.

The advantages are: a) it protects your source code from prying eyes and b) programs run a lot faster when 'compiled'.

Nic