Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Unable to install SMS Clients

Status
Not open for further replies.

rebel4k

IS-IT--Management
Apr 18, 2002
GB
I am new to SMS and have just installed SMS in a single domain environment on a member server. Whenever I run a discovery, all the machines within the domain appear in the all systems container, however the only one with a sitecode is the SMS server itself and it is also the only one that is showing up as assigned. I subsequently cannot install any clients on all of the other machines within the Domain. I have uninstalled and reinstalled SMS but to no avail. I have also made sure that the SMS Computer account has full rights to the systems management folder but it still does not work. Is anyone able to pint me in the right direction. Any help would be moost appreciated

Have you enabled Client Push? Just installing the SMS\SCCM server won't automatically install the clients.

Also have you ensured that the account used to install the client is a member of the local admins (either using Restricted Groups via GPO or the account is a member of the Domain Admins AD group).

Simon

The real world is not about exam scores, it's about ability.

Client push has been enabled and the account being used is a Domain Admins account. When pushing out the client it only gets installed on the sms server itself. As mentioned before, when machines are discovered they are not assigned a site code which I think may be what's causing the problem.