Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Unable to Eject or Use CDROM

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeY2K

MIS
Apr 11, 2001
US
Have an Ultra 10 running 2.6. I am unable to eject the CDROM even by pressing the button on the unit itself (lights up amber?). Unit won't see the drive, and when I try the "Eject CD-ROM" command in the GUI, I get a "Watch Error" box that pops up with the message:

<day/date/time/year> (/usr/dt/bin/dtexec) sh

cdrom0: No such file or directory

In the /root/cdrom directory, there is a file called sun_ultra_5_10_series_hw_ab with a pic of CD over it, but nothing else in that directory. As you can tell I am new to Solaris and any assistance would be GREATLY appreciated!

if you get the watch for errors message, then it most likely is due to the fact that the CD-ROM is being used somehow. Check any consoles you have open to see if you in any of the directories that are inside the CD-ROM. Also, close any GUI's that are showing you the files within the CD-ROM.

Hope this helps!!!!!

Thanks. I have all consoles closed and all GUI applications closed as well. This particular unit is not shared. Could I be missing a file somewhere? It seems to be looking for a file that it cannot find.

try typing : eject -f /cdrom at the command line.
This should force the CD-ROM to eject. Also, have you tried a reboot?

Hope this helps.

Hi,
You can also do a :
fuser /cdrom to see the process # holding the cdrom.

fuser -k /cdrom -- to kill the process that is using the cdrom

If this doesn't work use the device name instead of /cdrom.
Hope this helps.
Nana