Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Unable to do a directed recovery to original location

Status
Not open for further replies.

loucorked

Technical User
Dec 21, 2006
EU
Hi All

I'm relatively new to networker and I've just starting remotely managing a customers legato backup environment.. The customer is using networker 7.3.2 and the networker server is a sun solaris box. Because it is a remote service, i only have telnet access into the backup server. The network management console is installed on another server, which i can rdc into.. Between the management console and the telnet access to the backup server, i am monitoring the backups.. However Problem

I tried to do a restore from the NMC Gui of some files on another windows client.. From the NMC GUI i highlighted the client and started the networker user. I selected the client and destination as the same server, as the restore was to the original location. I started the restore however it fails with error "could not establish network connection". I tried the restore again, this time selecting the client(from whose data i want restored) and selected the NMC server as the destination, and the restore worked.. Does anyone have any ideas why i can't restore to any client except the NMC server??

I'm not sure but it sounds like it could be a name resolution error.

Does the client you are restoring to have the NMC servers short and FQDN name in its hostfile, or are they in a DNS that handles reverse lookups too? If not, try adding the client's name in the hosts-file on the NMC server and the NMC server's addresses in the clients hosts-file.

Ok. where would i view the host file on the NMC server?

?? What about /etc/hosts ?