Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Unable to connect to server

Status
Not open for further replies.

waydown

Programmer
Apr 27, 2009
GB
Hi,
I'm new to all this. Created a web server on OpenSuse Leap 42.2. I've checked that apache (httpd) service is running. I've also checked that port 80 is open and listening. I also disabled firewall for testing purposes. Yet when I try to connect to server from another machine using IP address there is no connection. I'm using yougetsignal Port Forwarding Tester as well as firewallruletest.com to try and establish tcp connections. I would be grateful for any suggestions as to what else I should do to establish connection.

Okay, lets break this down so we are talking the same language;

Define
"Created a web server"
As Apache, IIS etc. are "web servers"

So do you mean a machine running a web server?

And;

Is this machine on a LAN or the Internet

is it dedicated hardware, or a VM?

"Yet when I try to connect to server from another machine using IP address there is no connection"

From the local network or external?

Chris.

Indifference will be the downfall of mankind, but who cares?
Time flies like an arrow, however, fruit flies like a banana.

Never mind this jesus character, stars had to die for me to live.

Hi,
Thanks for your reply. Yes it is a machine running a web server, specifically Apache/2.4.23. The machine is using a wireless card to connect via a router to the internet. There is another machine with Windows 7 that has a wired connection to the same router and can connect to the internet. The machine with Apache is a dedicated server. The two machines are not configured to communicate with each other.