Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Unable to connect to MySQL (running under Ubuntu) 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

towerbase

Programmer
Jul 31, 2002
GB
I am new to Linux and Java but have a few years MySQL experience; my ambition is migrate from Windows and Delphi to Linux and Java.

However, I seem unable to get Connector/J working with Java and Linux. (I have got it to work with Windows and Delphi).

I have saved mysql-connector-java-5.1.7-bin-jar in a directory and added a "export set ..." statement to etc/profile to set CLASSPATH.

My java program checks the existence of the -bin-jar file with the following code:
Code:
boolean exists = (new File(jarname)).exists();
if (exists)
  System.out.println("jar found");
else
  System.out.println("No jar file found");
I also check that the CLASSPATH environment variable has been set up with
Code:
String classp = System.getenv("CLASSPATH");
if (classp.equals(jarname))
  System.out.println("Jar names match");
else
  System.out.println("Jar names do NOT match");
System.out.println("CLASSPATH="+classp);
and this correctly displays the environment variable that I set up.

Now the bit that doesn't work:
Code:
private static final String dbClassName = "com.mysql.jdbc.Driver";
try
{
  Class.forName(dbClassName);
  System.out.println("Class.forName worked");
}
catch (Exception e)
{
  System.out.println("Unable to connect to database server");
}
I always get the "Unable to connect..." message. No doubt I'm doing something really silly. I've learnt quite a bit to get this far but can anyone push me in the right direction, please?

I am using NetBeans 6.0.1, Java 1.6.0_0, Ubuntu 8.04 in case that is relevant.

Andrew
Hampshire, UK