Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Ubuntu -- login, then, a blank screen

Status
Not open for further replies.

GKChesterton

Programmer
Aug 17, 2006
US
I am such a total newbie that I have reinstalled Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty only eight times. You may say, "If that's all your reinstalls, you have NO business using Linux!" Maybe so, but here is my issue anyway.

When I boot, the system shows a login prompt which I am able to complete. Then the system goes to a screen that does have a background color (it's brown!) and has a controllable cursor arrow. Besides moving the cursor around, I can Ctr-Alt-F2 to command-line. That has let me poke around, but my trouble shooting skills run out pretty quick.

My general experience is that when I fresh install things work well, but at some point while installing applications I have some kind of failure. (I try to handle the installations incrementally but haven't been able to identify problem spots.) After that I can reboot up off my CD of course, but can't resolve the issues.

I am running
Chip : AMD Athelon 1200 MHz, 1.5Gig RAM
Board : ASUS KK266 plus
Vid Card : Nvidia MX400 64MB
Monitor : NEC AccuSync
I am running Dansguardian - I know it
enters early in the boot routine.

I had 3D video enabled during "round 1," the first of my two installs that seemed to get anywhere. But have put off attempting that during round 2. (I did not use Envy . Trial-n-err got me to nvidia-glx.)

I have edited xorg.conf -- for "depth 24" I deleted some higher res levels. This made my screen sequence happen in a better res, but no difference otherwise. I also specified H/V synch.