Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Ubuntu - How do I install Wireless USB Adapter?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gavm99

IS-IT--Management
May 18, 2004
GB
Hi all,

I have installed Ubuntu for the first time.

I have a Zyxel G260 USB Wireless Adapter. I want to use this to connect to my WLAN. Within the Device Manager I can see the device (I think) as I have one listed as Unknown (0x3408) and below this it says USB Wireless Interface. When I click on this I can see in the right hand pane it has picked up the fact it is a Zyxel device. Within Networking though I can't see my device so I am guessing it is not properly installed.

As I'm new to Linux & Ubuntu I don't know how would do the equivalent of 'Update Driver' in Windows.

Can anyone tell me (with a dummies style guide) how I get my device properly installed?

Can I use this device ok in Ubuntu?

Thanks in advance.

Ubuntu Dummie.

Have you tried the Wireless Assistant? I use a Linksys USB wireless card and it found it and used it immediately. However, it was not enabled by default. I had to use the Wireless Assistant to enable it.

To make sure it's connected, use...

sudo ifconfig
(similar to windows ipconfig)

Mark

Hi,

As I am new to Ubuntu I am using the graphical interface rather than the command line. Within the GUI I can't see a Wireless Assistant, only the Networking section off Administration.

However I switched to the command prompt and used your command, this found only my loopback adapter of 127.0.0.1

Any other ideas?

Thanks.

Try this from a command prompt...
"sudo wlassistant"
(remove the quotes of course)