Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Type-sensitive parameterized views

Status
Not open for further replies.

trimtrom

Programmer
Dec 12, 2003
GB

Hello,

I am a Foxpro 6 beginner, and I have written a Foxpro report based on a parameterized view. This view compares the parameter to an alphanumeric field ACNO in its base table to select its records.

My problem is that the parameter the report passes to the view can be either in the form of a word (as in "PAUL") or a number (as in "5515"). I have both these examples stored in the field ACNO.

I find that the report will show beautifully when "PAUL" is used as the parameter, but flashes on and off (because it is empty) when the parameter is "5515". For some reason the view does not like to compare alphanumeric fields to a parameter where the parameter is a number (as far as I can see). I can find no other reason for this event.

How do I get round this?

Thanks,
Trimtrom

Try adding ALLTRIM() in your parameter.

Mike Gagnon

If you want to get the best response to a question, please check out FAQ184-2483 first.

Hi,

Alltrim() makes no difference, I am afraid.

Trimtrom

Trimtrom,

Could you clarify what data types you are using here (for the field and the parameter), and what their lengths are? Aslo, what is the code in the WHERE clause of the view? It will be much easier to solve this problem given that information.

Mike

Mike Lewis
Edinburgh, Scotland

My Visual Foxpro web site: My Crystal Reports web site:

Hi,
In response to your question the where clause is as follows:

WHERE Exptran.trancc = ?paracostcentre;
AND Exptran.acno = ALLTRIM(?paraaccount)