Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Two-Time-Zones Concurrent Display

Status
Not open for further replies.

kennybak

Technical User
Nov 19, 2001
US
I would like to display the date/time (ex. Nov 22, 2001 2:30 AM EST) of two time zones (GMT-10, HST) and GMT-5, at present EST), concurrently on my 'weather' page, from one script. I have posted on several forums and some say I need to use server side script and others say that the user's locale/OS poses a problem in writing a script. I am just learning Javascript and am asking for a script, rather than submitting one for critique. Jaroslav Stika ( has written a World Time Clock script that is very, very complex -- much more complex than I need. Also, in his program, my time zone is displayed correctly, but it is then necessary for me to input my city from a drop-down list (time zone reference) in order for the program to proceed.

Would appreciate any comments/suggestions regarding the capability of Javascript for a two-time-zone variation of the basic (though individually customized) date/time clock script.

Thank you,
Ken Baker

Here's a simple script using timezoneoffset as a variable :

<script language=&quot;JavaScript&quot;>
function datetime (foo) {
var dateToday = new Date();
dateToday.setTime(dateToday.getTime()+foo*60*60*1000);
var amOrPm;
hoursFinal = dateToday.getHours();
if (hoursFinal < 12) {
amOrPm = &quot;am&quot;;
}
else {
hoursFinal = hoursFinal - 12;
amOrPm = &quot;pm&quot;;
}
if (hoursFinal == 0) {
hoursFinal = 12;
}
minutesFinal = dateToday.getMinutes();
minutesFinal = minutesFinal.toString();
if (minutesFinal.length == 1) {
minutesFinal = '0'+minutesFinal;
}
secondsFinal = dateToday.getSeconds();