Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Two (or more) Dial Up modem connections

Status
Not open for further replies.

BigEd77

IS-IT--Management
Oct 6, 2003
US
I have a customer who cannot get ANY broadband internet access. (Other than Satellite, and he's not too keen about that.) He presently has three analog data lines coming into his shop. We were using a webramp to control and bind the internet connections for use by the clients on his Windows 2003 Small Business Server network. We have gone through three webramps in the past 6 months. They die like flies.

Anyone out there know how I could set up a PC with either linix or Windows XP, preferably XP since I have NO experience with Linix, to bind three modems into one connection and share it over the network? We are tired of replacing Webramps.

I think Win XP has something built in to bind two modems. I've never heard of binding three. But you might be able to use two pairs...
.bh.

He who dares not offend cannot be honest. -- Thomas Paine.

According to what I've been able to find out you can use XP to bind modems. I'm presently installing three modems in a XP Pro box and going to set them to "Negotiate multi-link for single link connections" and will see if that will do the trick. I will keep everyone informed on how this works.

I tried XP Pro. You can bind two modems for multi-link, but then cannot share the internet connection of both. Only one. Anyone have any ideas on how to get three modems muli-plexing on one computer, AND share the connections to a network????? Other than Webramp.