Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Two Linksys Routers Using Static IP on a Domain

Status
Not open for further replies.

campweb

Technical User
Jul 30, 2010
US
Good morning,

Thanks ahead of time to anyone who takes the time to read this and help out. I am a novice network assistant. I encountered a problem that is new to me and I thought maybe someone with more experience has worked through this before.

Has anyone here ever set up a second router (Linksys WRT5FG) with the first router using a static IP configuration on a domain with DHCP disabled and all devices on the network using static IP addresses?

I'm trying to hook up a second router that will provide users with wifi using DHCP without changing anything else on the network.

I know the first device is the gateway and the second the router which you change in the advanced settings.
. The first should have DCHP enabled but I'm worried this will make unwanted changed on the network.

My assumption is, the static IP info (subnet mask, gateway, static DNS 1 and 2) on the second router should be the same as the first with the exception of the Internet IP address and the IP range. DHCP should be disabled on the second router.

Am I on the right track? Or am I way off here?

Cheers!
Al

You have some choices depending on network topology, other things, and how the first router is configured.

Are the wireless users any different than the static users?
Will all users be accessing the same things, wired and wireless?