Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Two ISPs, Two Serial Interfaces, One Router

Status
Not open for further replies.

rumerley

IS-IT--Management
Apr 16, 2003
US
All:

I've gone through a lot of the previous posts on this forum and I'm still up in the air as to a solution to my dilemna. Also, I'm a novice at this so bear with me.

We had one T1 through ISP_A (141.xxx.xxx.xxx) going through a Cisco 2621. We have added an additional T1 through ISP_B (65.xxx.xxx.xxx). My router currently has two CSU/DSU cards (Serial0/0 and Serial0/1).

Now, I understand that in order to perform loadbalancing or load sharing I need to use BGP (acquire an ASN, etc). What I am interested in doing instead is use the new line through ISB_B as a failover. I'm still debating routing our different subnets through their own interface, but that is for a future discussion.

I've looked into HSRP for the failover and I'm having problems finding any solutions that only use one router. Is there a way to configure failover in a single router with two serial interfaces and two ISPs? If so, what configuration commands should I look into.

Since we're not really providing any sites for our clients here, and this would primarily be for outbound access, I'm not interested in BGP.

Thanks in advance for your time.

You would still use BGP for failover, I'm not an expert in BGP, but I have looked into a similiar issue. What I was told in short is:
1 - You'll have to have tech's from both ISP's involved.
2 - They will be leary in doing it, but will.
3 - It will be expensive.