Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Trying to understand how a token works

Status
Not open for further replies.

waydown

Programmer
Apr 27, 2009
GB
Hi,
Sorry I'm new to using Tokens, so having difficulty understanding it.
Say I have:
Code:
<form action="" method="POST">
<P>
  <label for="username">Username</label>
  <input type="text" name="username" id="username" 
autocomplete="off">
</P>
<P>
  <label for="password">Password</label>
  <input type="password" name="password" id="password" 
autocomplete="off">
</P>
<P>
  <input type="hidden" name="token" value="<?php echo $token ?>" />
  <input type="submit" value="LOG IN">
</P>
</form>
where:
$token = md5(sha1($salt.$ip).sha1($salt.$formName));
When form is submitted following is set:
Code:
if(empty($_SESSION['token']))
   { $_SESSION['token'] = $token;
   }
However, if after first submission username or password is incorrect and the form is resubmitted with correct username or password a new $token would be generated. In that case how can I test:
if($_SESSION['token'] == $token){
//ok
}else{ //not OK

The chances are that the new token generated will never be equal to $_SESSION['token'] and the above condition will never be met. Have I got this wrong or are there extra steps that need to be taken to avoid what seems to be an endless condition.

A token????