Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Trying to teach myself Java

Status
Not open for further replies.
Feb 4, 2011
CA
Hey all,
I have some experience with programming with Perl, PHP and a tiny bit of C++. I am trying to teach myself Java. Of course the book I am using doesn't have solutions to the exercises with explanations at all. On one exercise it says to take bits of code from the examples and make them into a program that compiles and runs. I believe I have it right, but as I am a beginner I probably am missing something. I have a file called Exercise4.java and the code is as follows:

Code:
//: Exercise4.java

public class Exercise4
{
 class DataOnly
  {
   int i;
   double d;
   boolean b;
  }
 DataOnly data = new DataOnly();

data.i = 47;
 data.d = 1.1;
 data.b = false;
}

However when I compile it, I get these errors:

Code:
Exercise4.java:13: <identifier> expected
 data.i = 47;
        ^
Exercise4.java:14: <identifier> expected
 data.d = 1.1;
        ^
Exercise4.java:15: <identifier> expected
 data.b = false;
        ^
3 errors

What am I doing wrong?

Java variables are not accesed like struct members. I think you should read the basis first, getting concept like classes and methods.

You can find a lot ot tutorials like this

Cheers,
Dian

To run your example you need a main() method.
I tried to do it at 2 ways:

1. With package-private class for the data structure
Code:
[COLOR=#0000ff]//: Exercise41.java[/color]

[COLOR=#0000ff]// package-private class[/color]
[COLOR=#2e8b57][b]class[/b][/color] DataOnly {
  [COLOR=#2e8b57][b]int[/b][/color] i;
  [COLOR=#2e8b57][b]double[/b][/color] d;
  [COLOR=#2e8b57][b]boolean[/b][/color] b;
}