Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Trying to add a forum to my website

Status
Not open for further replies.

jbuholtz

Technical User
Nov 6, 2000
US
Hello everyone,

I am trying to create a web page using a non-html program. I am about through but I am trying to accomplish one last task. I want to add a forum to my site. I have read that CGI scripts are the way to go, but I do not know how to use them.

How do CGI Bins work?
Where do I add the script into my page?
How do I get a forum script?

I am new to the web authoring scene. I do not know HTML or any other programing languages, nor do I have the desire to learn them right now. I will certainly try if I have to but I would rather wait until later.

The program that I am using to create the site is "Web Page Construction Kit 6.0 Deluxe" I will be using to host my site when it is finished. I do believe they have CGI capabilities. Assuming that they do, I would appreciate any help.

So knowing a little about what I would like to accomplish, Is it possible?

Thank You all in advance.

hey jbuholtz,
Welcome to TTs. The trick you are trying to accomplish is HTML and programming. You say, " I do not know HTML or any other programing languages, nor do I have the desire to learn". Wel,.... I think you are going to need to learn a little or get some support from someone who knows.

How do CGI Bins work?
-- lots of detail left out --