Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Trouble installing netscreen 5gt

Status
Not open for further replies.

jcanon

IS-IT--Management
Jun 7, 2001
CO
I'm totally new to netscreen firewalls, so I will post all details I can, cause I don't know what could be useful...

I'm trying to install a netscreen 5gt, starting from reseting the machine and using the initial configuratión wizard. I use NAT mode, trusted to untrusted mode, ip of trusted zone 10.0.0.40/255.0.0.0 not using DHCP, ip of untrusted zone is dinamic ip via dhcp.

I can conect and web manage device from trusted zone.

I can ping to internet (ping from the firewall via console (using CLI), so Internet is active (untrusted interface show a working ip / dns).

I can't ping or have web access to internet from the internal trusted zone.

I can see (ping) the trusted interface on firewall from internal zone.

I can't see (ping) the untrusted interface on firewall from internal zone.

I read all getting started and users guide, but as I can see I should have internet access after finishing initial wizard...

Basically I can connect to trusted interface from internal network and can connect to internet from untrusted interface, but I can't pass data from trusted to untrusted interface, so I suppose I have a gateway or route problem, but I don't know what to do....

any ideas?

thanks in advance...

Juan Carlos

Hello,

It sounds like you have either a routing issue or Policy. I'm guessing it's policy related since you can ping yahoo.com from the Trust Zone.